Yossi’s Wine Page

Wine Festival at the Israel Museum

Here’s the gang at the wine festival last Thursday night (July 17th). The picture was taken by an obliging passer-by towards the end of the evening, so we’d all already tasted more than a few wines and were in great spirits.

From left to right, starting in back, are Steve, my very best friend (except for my wife Dina who’s in front with the big grin) who’s visiting from the States, Avi Yehuda, owner and winemaker of the Yehuda Winery, Shlomi Zadok, owner and winemaker of the Ben-Hanna Winery, and yours truly. Filling out the crew are Dina and her friend Francoise.

The white wine offerings this year were plentiful and delightful. Lots of unoaked and lightly oaked Chardonnays, perfect for the weather this time of year. Also some very pleasant Viogniers, rosés, and blends. Avi Yehuda planned to stick with only whites and rosés all evening, but after an hour or so he started slipping and sampled a red here and there.

As much as I enjoy wine I am not proficient in describing what I have tasted, so I will leave that task to those more accomplished. Also I’m having some trouble reading the notes that I did scribble down. I will say that most of the wines I tasted at the festival were good to very good and some were quite excellent, though there were several I didn’t care for at all. Here’s the short list of the wines I most enjoyed (in no particular order):

  • Tzuba Sangiovese 2006 – light and just right for the warm weather
  • Psagot Viognier – light, crisp, and delightful
  • Tishbi Chardonnay Estate 2007
  • Avidan Shiraz Reserve 2005
  • Saslove Shiraz Cabernet 2005
  • Galil Mountain Pinot Noir 2006 – my favorite Israeli Pinot Noir so far
  • Yatir Sauvignin Blanc 2007
  • Teperberg Terra Cabernet Sauvignon Merlot (+ 5% Cabernet Franc) 2006
  • Yarden Syrah 2003
  • Recanati Merlot Reserve 2004

After having read such wonderful reviews of the Yatir Shiraz, I was disappointed that there was none for tasting at their table.

Towards the end of the evening we met some lovely folks who were part of a group from California and we exhange tasting notes and recommendations.

Needless to say we had a marvelous time. Luckily for me, Dina agreed to drive us home.

For those of you who missed this event, I stringly recommend that you try to make it next year, but don’t go on the last night as we did. It was a mob scene, so next year we’ll try to go on the middle day.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

